Lining up for the Devon County Council election…

Profile image for OkehampPeople

By OkehampPeople | Tuesday, April 30, 2013, 12:20

RESIDENTS IN the Okehampton area go to the polls this Thursday (2 May) to choose new councillors for Devon County Council. The elections give voters an opportunity to decide who will lead the council, selecting those who will be responsible for key local services…

County Council elections in England take place once every four years, and all 62 seats in Devon are up for grabs. Across the county nearly 600,000 people over the age of 18 will get the chance to vote.

The polls will be open in the Okehampton area from 7am until 10pm. Counting will start at 10am on Friday 3 May at West Devon Borough Council's offices at Kilworthy Park, Tavistock.

Here are the candidates (* denotes member of existing council):

Hatherleigh and Chagford: William Douglas-Mann (Green), Alan Gross (UK Independence Party), James Raymond McInnes * (Conservative), Irene Wareing (Labour)

Okehampton Rural: Kevin Ball (Conservative), Christopher Bones (Liberal Democrat), Terry Cummings (Labour), Daniel Pledger (UK Independence Party).

See the results coming in live on Friday 3 May below:


Latest Stories in Okehampton


Local Vouchers


Local Jobs


Search for...

Min price is bigger than Max price
Min price is bigger than Max price
Min rent is bigger than Max rent